The Animatress Pipeline

Filmmaking Adventures

Saks Men’s Store


I was thrown out of Saks’ Men’s store for drawing the mannekins! I asked permission from the store’s window dresser who welcomed me with open arms and invited me to draw. However, I guess he didn’t consult the store manger first. m I am ashamed for one thing though,when the store manager approached me and laid down the law I did something I shouldn’t: I mentioned who I obtained permission to draw from. The sqeeky queen retorted: “I don’t know WHY he (the window dresser) said that, but NO photography or ART!”
Well excuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuse ME!
Photography I knew—art I did not knew.
Drat! After I hit it off with the window dresser so well! In actuality he was the very same window dresser who did the great display that sparked this boy drawing blog! Yes, Henry the darling cutie from Hawaii who contributes to the best window displays in San Francisco! I do hope I’ll get a chance to apologize for getting him in trouble soon. I just hope I don’t owe him rent if you know what I mean!
Argue all you like. It is nearly IMPOSSIBLE to find a man in a suit in the U.S. unless he’s running across Market street to scuttle back into his law office. Once more, the friggin’ puppies keep stickin’ their paws in their pockets! ARGH! CHARACTER DESIGNS MUST SHOW HANDS DAMMIT!
All I can say is thank goodness for Brits. When you have one on hand like I do at school, you can always count on the dashing devils to show up in a suit to provide a damsel in distress with reference material. How else am I going to figure out how tousers gather at the ankles! Thanks Goddess for Barry Wingate! Thanks to him I can finally do the turnaround for my characature of Fred Snyder.

One must suffer to be great…. I must perservere or I’ll never get back into the animation industry again. I just spent 180,000 over the past 15 years training for it, I can;t let my southern upbringing keep me out of away from the industry I love. But that’s another story…

2 responses to “Saks Men’s Store

  1. Benedict E Bowen May 17, 2006 at 11:27 pm

    Shame on you peddling stereotypes! As a Brit, I can say I’ve never worn a suit in my life! Mind you, I’m one of those scruffy artist types who’s never set foot in an office. Keep it up, I’m reading and recommending! ^_^

  2. Soleil Smile May 19, 2006 at 6:40 am

    OOoooohh! What a HORRIBLE stereotype for looking drop dead gorgeous everyday!HEhehee.

Leave a Reply

