The Animatress Pipeline

Filmmaking Adventures

The Second Home: Sabrina

The day after the “Alex Incident”, I gave Pasha up to a home that I was leary about before. Mostly because the owner had a pit bull. Of course Call of the Wild ran through my head again–but I had no choice. I gave Pasha to a nice lady named Sabrina who took care of her for free for two years. I got visiting rights and everything and I stayed on top of the vet bills.
However, to a great many people, having an old animal around the house reminds them fo their owm mortality and after a while Pasha’s ailments took a toll on Sabrina. When I overheard the care of Pasha being referred to as a “this” as Dr. Wong paraphrased Sabrina’s comments over the phone, I knew Pasha had overstayed her welcome.

On the day of Pasha’s hand over, this Paul song rang through my head:

Martha(Pash) my dear
though I spend my days in conversation
Please
Remember me
Martha(Pasha) my love
Don’t forget me
Martha (Pasha) my dear

Hold your head up you silly girl
look what you’ve done
When you find yourself in the thick of it
Help yourself to a bit of what is all around you
Silly Girl.

Take a good look around you
Take a good look you’re bound to see
That you and me were meant to be
for each other
Silly girl.

Hold your hand out you silly girl
See what you’ve done
When you find yourself in the thick of it
Help yourself to a bit of what is all around you
Silly girl.

Martha(Pasha) my dear
You have always been my inspiration
Please
Be good to me
Martha(Pasha) my love
Don’t forget me
Martha(Pasha) my dear.

I also sang Me and My Arrow, just in case I would not be able to sing it to her by her side on the day she died. Thankfully the fates did allow me that great privilege.

The thought that I couldn’t take care of a baby and that someone else who did not grow up with Pasha had to shelter her was to much to bear without a great deal of crying…here.. there and everwhere.
Thanks to my gay husband of cheering me up best he could for ther hours after seeing Pasha taken away in a strange carseating between two strange girls…giving me that accusing “Pasha look” look like: “how can you just give me away like that?”

Leave a Reply

