The Animatress Pipeline

Filmmaking Adventures

Inspiration-Live Action Surrealists


My mind runs into a brick wall when it creating for live action. So, I’m posting some screen captures of visually appealing films that I can create on a smaller scale for my After Effects class.
My mind moves from cartoon to surrealism. It’s the closest I’m going to get to reality if I am to retain my sanity. I just see reality as one big traffic jam of cars, crowds and noise.
People also have a nasty habit of establishing hierarchies that dictates that lofty possessions are the key to happiness and security. PHOOEY! What I really think owning a Chanel suit or a Mercedes Benz is all about is a means of escapism. I’ve lived in some pretty swanky neighborhoods and have lots of wealthy friends and noticed that wealth is no escape from misery. It’s a herald into to the world of fantasy away from the maddening noise and grimy crowds. The Surreal. This genre is the expertise of my favorite live action filmmakers.

First off from the 1960’s and prior, I just love Fellini.

Le Dolce Vita

Julietta of the Spirits. I think ABFAB pulled a lot from this film.





Roger Vadim

Barbarella



Vincent Minelli and Gene Kelley
Yes, Gene was a director too!

The Modern Surealists of the Film Medium
Jean-Pierre Jeunet

A Very Long Engagement

Amelie





Juile Taymor

Frieda

and
Terry Gilliam

Adventures of the Baron Munchausen


Costume Pictures are a blast

Devdas

Amadeus

The Wiz

And then there is surrealism in the grime. Fantasy pearlescent, chalk pastel. pixie dust films about the artist and fringe communities:

You can’t beat Hitchhock in Staging: Vertigo

Rear Window

To Catch a Thief

The artist community stumbles into cold reality too, but at least it’s still pretty to look at





Rock Musicals roll my world

Rocky Horror Picture Show


Blunt wake up call into reality in beautiful black and white

All About Eve

2 responses to “Inspiration-Live Action Surrealists

  1. Elliot Cowan September 10, 2008 at 5:08 am

    Regarding a comment on John K’s blog.It’s Harry and the TERRIBLE Whatsit, not INCREDIBLE.I remember it well.It gave me nightmares as a child.

  2. SoleilSmile September 12, 2008 at 3:36 am

    That’s funny it empowered me. Then the horror movie, “The Boogan” came out and I was afraid of the monster in the basement all over again.You gotta be a afraid of a monster that isn’t subdued by cast iron pots being thrown at it.

Leave a Reply

