The Animatress Pipeline

Filmmaking Adventures

Texture Challenge: Sparkle Fabrics

I’m going to have a doozy of a time torturing my teachers with this one. I thought .psd maps could add shimer to my textures with specular layers, but they aren’t. This problem MUST be solved. Part of the appeal of CG to me is that characters can now have more elaborate costumes. No one wants to torture an animation assistant with so much line mileage. So, 3D is the answer and it’s only saving grace in my book.

Darling teacher just gave me the following advice for sparkle fabric:

I would simply make a layered shader that holds out the specular metallic color map with a matte.

Wherever the matte is, you use a reflective HDRI image to simulate the shiny metallics…

Leave a Reply

