The Animatress Pipeline

Filmmaking Adventures

Drawing Men: Clothes

Drawing and modeling how a suit falls on a man is rather tricky without a model right in front of you. I could take the easy route and copy Bruce Timm’s work, but I think I’ll challenge myself a bit more. Currently, Fred’s model is not wearing the suit very well.

The head and the feet are too big. Big feet do exist on men but, this is a cartoon and I must apply my design sense and vary shapes. I need to work harder to apply the same flare and care to my male characters as I do to females.
Elvis had a big head and big o’ feet, but it looks so clumsy when he isn’t posed well.

I prefer Cary Grants way of wearing a suit to Elvis…

…but I want Elvis’ mobility.

One trick I can apply to model is to simply make the shoulders broader. However, that can be a cop out that may cheapen the character design by giving it a half baked look. It will look as though i designed Fred as an afterthought as opposed to all the effort I put into the girls and I don’t want an unbalanced look to my film. It will be noticeable. Sailor Moon has an imbalanced gender design to the show. Have you ever noticed how Mamorou’s shoulders are so broad that they seem awkward? I have a friend named David Swift was has broad shoulders that look amazing on him, but they don’t dwarf the head or make the neck feminine. I’ll have to draw Swift one day and post the drawing here when I receive permission.
For Fred, I want the shoulders to be narrower with a nice thick handsome neck. Fred will have an overall Cary Grant look, but I’m going to use James Mc Avoy in his role as Robbie from Atonement for Fred’s proportions.

Note the size of James’/Robbie’s neck and wrists.

Furthermore, I am going to reiterate my pain on finding a man’s center of gravity. On a woman it’s her sternum and pelvis that balance weight. Men however, barely have behinds–they have “tops of legs”. So what balances their heavy shoulder girdles? It seems that if they stood perfectly straight with their ankles close together like a woman, they would fall over. It’s easy to draw men in action, but what about static poses? Is doryphoros and it’s variations the only static pose artists have developed over the ages for the male figure?
Michelangelo! Why didn’t you produce a series of David’s in various poses that tell the story though the sculptures actions? That would’ve been great! I swear, one day I’m going to travel to Italy and photograph every single inch and angle of Michelangleo’s David I can legally get! That work is a master piece. Leave to a fabulous gay sculptor to show us how truly beautiful men can be. The well developed obliques/illia on David is a perfect study of weight in the pelvis.

One thing I noticed is that they sit and stand with their feet spread wide apart. Social laws don’t allow women to stand like this. Notice that you only see spread eagle poses on femme fatales?

A girl would never sit with her legs apart like Elvis here:

A girl can balance her entire body on her butt alone. It’s a powerful structure that really shouldn’t be mocked. I can’t tell you how many guys I’ve propelled 30ft across the room with my caboose. My toush is my center my ballast, you can tell right away where most of my weight is settled.

Where is most of Elvis’ weight settled in the pic below? His behind of course but it looks like his shoulders and feet are doing their part to balance the weight.

Lastly, there’s the texture aspect. I like how Elvis wears rings without raising questions about his masculinity. Men seem to live in such a liminal state of masculine and feminine that everyone in the hetero world is desperate push away from.

More on that later after some research.

If I learned one thing over the past few weeks is the art of the suit. According the very nice manager and sales staff at Georgio Armani; suits are made of wool or polyester blends. The famous linen suits of Hemmingway’s days were worn for the tropical climates of Hemmingway’s travels. Wool however is amazingly versatile. It’s isn’t always fuzzy like a sweater. You would think the sleek look of a man in a suit was made of coarser material like muslin, but no it’s wool. Wool is very mobile and keeps the mansie warm. No wonder men look so comfortable all the time–unlike us girls who suffer with squished boobies in our stays and hiked pencil skirts that ride up our rumble seats.

Thank-you-very-much…

One response to “Drawing Men: Clothes

  1. kidlazy July 3, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    loving all the picture!especially the elvis ones!thats the kinda style i wanna get.. check out my blog if you want u might be interested

Leave a Reply

