The Animatress Pipeline

Filmmaking Adventures

Flash Character Design, Set up and Layout: Soleil Rocketship

Soleil Rocketship is my atonement for Dear Jesse. Unlike in ‘Jesse”, I followed all the rules and and employed the task of character layout. My character layout experience on Futurama and Dilbert improved the outcome of this film.


What’s next to learn is post and those certain colors that don’t display well on television monitors. All colors should have %5 of gray to tone down glare. White and red are usual colors that appear blown out on TV screens.


Early Designs

While working for a electronic toy company called Newgent, I had the task of developing sprites. I found that characters with clean up lines don’t well in 8 bit graphics, so I had to work in planes. I researched the ultimate queen of planes, Mary Blair, and my former teacher, Jules Engel who was the colorist for UPA. The result was Soleil. I created her offsite and after hours in a bookstore cafe, so she is legally my own property.








Leave a Reply

